If you have host filtering enabled for your gaming device. Then a host will ONLY be allowed in the following ways:

  • If the host is within your distance limit
  • If the ping to the host is below your ping assist value
  • If you have strict mode off and the host is a dedicated server
  • If you have previously added the host to your allow list

Finally, once you've connected to a host you will unable to filter them until they stop communicating for 2 minutes. This is to stop people reducing the Geo-Filter to kick people out the game.

If the Geo-Filter has been disabled, it will not be blocking any connections, it will perform like a 'normal' router in that respect.