There are multiple ways you can connect to another host or player:

  • They are within your distance circle
  • Their ping is below your ping assist value
  • The Geo-Filter is disabled
  • They are in your allow list

Regardless of what allowed you to connect to a host you'll remain connected to that host until communication has stopped for over 2 minutes.

For example if a player is within your circle, you need to leave the game they are in for over 2 minutes and their circle and square has disappeared from the Geo-Filter before they can be filtered again.

This is done so that people can't use the Geo-Filter to boot people out the game. If this didn't exist you could have your filter set large, then shrink it once you start losing to boot other players.